Warning: Register.com Phishing Email


I want to share an email with you that appears to be a phishing attempt to gain access to a customer’s domain names and account at Register.com. I am quite sure I would not have fallen for this for a variety of reasons, but Gmail marked it as spam just in case.

If you receive an email like this that purports to be from Register.com or another domain registrar, mark it as spam and/or report it to the company that is being targeted. These types of phishing emails can lead to compromised registrar accounts and stolen domain names. Never click on links in emails because they may not lead to where they seem to lead.

In the case of the email below, the redacted link was for Register.com, but the embedded link was to another website I will not share.

Here’s the email I received this afternoon:

Email Subject: Status Alert: Potential risk to the server.

Dear Valued Register.com Customer.

Your account contains more than 3105 directories and may pose a potential performance risk to the server.
Please reduce the number of directories for your account to prevent possible account deactivation.

In order to prevent your account from being locked out we recommend that you create special tmp directory.

Or use the link below:

Thank you for choosing Register.com as your email provider.

Customer Support
Register.com, Inc
Toll free in the U.S. and Canada: (877) 731-4441
Outside the U.S. and Canada 1 (902) 749-5918


  1. I also received this e-mail (a couple weeks ago) … even though I haven’t been a Register customer for a few years.

    • I would assume they aren’t “targeting” Register.com customers. I get phishing emails from banks I’ve never heard of all the time, and I assume this is similar. Send out enough emails and they’re bound to land in the inboxes of customers.

Comments are closed.