UDRP Filed on Quebec.com

This morning, I was looking through the recent UDRP filings at the World Intellectual Property Organization, and I saw an aggravating one that should almost certainly be denied, hopefully with a finding of Reverse Domain Name Hijacking. The Ministre des Relations internationales, de la Francophonie et du Commerce extérieur (Department of International Relations)  has filed a UDRP for the Quebec.com domain name.

Quebec.com is owned by Anything.com, Ltd., a company that owns a large portfolio of exceptional keyword domain names, including YL.com, YE.com, 10.com, and many others. The company has owned this domain name since for at least 10 years  and probably much longer than that (Whois history records for this name stop in 2003 and it has a 1998 creation date). That almost certainly means that Ari Goldberger of the ESQwire law firm will respond to the complaint.

Ari is no stranger to geographical UDRP decisions, having won a number of them. In fact, in the LomaLinda.com UDRP  which Ari successfuly defended, the panelist stated, “the general rule that geographic names are not subject to trademark protection.”  

I think it’s ridiculous that a UDRP would be filed against a geodomain name like Quebec.com. The UDRP system and legal system have ruled in favor of domain name owners far more often than the complainants. Just a few such cases include  Pocatello.com,  MyrtleBeach.com,  Barcelona.com,  StMoritz.com, CityOfSalinas.com, and  Norcross.com.

Elliot Silver
Elliot Silver
About The Author: Elliot Silver is an Internet entrepreneur and publisher of DomainInvesting.com. Elliot is also the founder and President of Top Notch Domains, LLC, a company that has closed eight figures in deals. Please read the DomainInvesting.com Terms of Use page for additional information about the publisher, website comment policy, disclosures, and conflicts of interest. Reach out to Elliot: Twitter | Facebook | LinkedIn


  1. Well as a government organization they would have access to a .qc.ca extension, and if that failed the country code .ca.

    I wonder who thought of this process, they are essentially trying to steal the domain, if this doesn’t show how broken the udrp process is, I don’t know what does.

  2. What’s the most shameful about these kinds of UDRPs is that both WIPO and the NAF actually allow these to proceed to UDRP.

    These are supposed to be reviewed for legitimacy by them. Why does it matter if they keep on letting infuriatingly blatant reverse domain name hijacking (RDNH) cases like this one to pass through to UDRP?

    I’d love for WIPO to explain why this UDRP passes the mustard and think it deserves to be heard by panelists?


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Recent Posts

Entrepreneurship Handbook Offers Domain Advice – Reveals a $385k Domain Name Purchase

Chad Folkening shared an excellent newsletter article from the Entrepreneurship Handbook that will be of interest to domain investors. Not only does Dave Schools...

Referring a (Bad) Prospect to a Broker

There are many times when the valuation of a domain name my company owns is far greater than what a prospective buyer thinks it...

Somewhere.com Reportedly Acquired for $400,000

The Somewhere.com domain name has reportedly been acquired for $400,000 USD. The acquisition was announced on X this morning by Nick Huber: Big news: We spent...

Can You Beat my Time on Pyramid.com?

Michael Cyger launched a fun solitaire game called Pyramid solitaire on the exceptional Pyramid.com domain name. I've played it many times and find it...

My Experience with Afternic / Dan Checkout Link

I recently sold a domain name I owned for several years after an email discussion with the buyer. During our negotiation, at least three...