JDM.com Subject of UDRP (Updated) | DomainInvesting.com
Neustar Domain Names

JDM.com Subject of UDRP (Updated)


A UDRP has been filed against the JDM.com domain name at the World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO). The UDRP filing is case #D2017-1182.

JDM.com has a creation date of April 1995, making this domain name 22 years old. The domain name is earning advertising revenue via its Uniregistry parked page. As far as I am concerned (and as many UDRP panels have ruled), this is a legitimate business practice. Based on a DomainTools Whois History search (and article written by Jamie Zoch), it looks like the domain name may have recently changed registrants.

As a three letter .com domain name, JDM.com holds significant value. According to Estibot, the value of JDM.com is listed as $118,000, and I would not be surprised to see a domain name like this sell for somewhere in that ballpark or higher. I do to see any public sales information about JDM.com in NameBio.

The complainant in this UDRP proceeding is listed as J.D.M. Sofware B.V. (I think this is a WIPO typo and the correct company name is J.D.M. Software B.V.). A Google search for that entity name shows a company that operates on the JDM.NL ccTLD domain name. I believe this is the company that filed the UDRP. Assuming this is correct, I can see why the company would want to upgrade to the .com domain name.

There have been a few other UDRP proceedings involving valuable three letter .com domain names during the past several months. Going on memory, I think the respondents won all cases, with the exception of a case involving theft. Cases I have written about in the recent past include CQC.com, ATC.com, and SOG.com.

In my opinion, most three letter .com domain names are acquired by investors because of their versatility. For most LLL.com domain names, there are many potential prospective buyers, and there are many ways to monetize these domain names. In the case of the JDM initials, there are likely thousands of people whose initials are “JDM,” and I can see quite a few companies that use the JDM acronym. In fact, when I did a Google search of “JDM,” the first result is Urban Dictionary defining the “JDM” term as “Japanese Domestic Market.”

My guess is that the panel will rule that the domain name was not acquired in bad faith, and I will not be surprised if the panel rules it is a case of Reverse Domain Name Hijacking. Of course, I am not privy to any private details beyond what I can see, so I will be following along with the UDRP as it progresses.

Update: UDRP was denied. and despite not being asked to consider Reverse Domain Name Hijacking, the panel ruled that this was, in fact, a case of RDNH. Attorney John Berryhill defended the domain owner.

About The Author: Elliot Silver is an Internet entrepreneur and publisher of DomainInvesting.com. Elliot is also the founder and President of Top Notch Domains, LLC, a company that has sold seven figures worth of domain names in the last five years. Please read the DomainInvesting.com Terms of Use page for additional information about the publisher, website comment policy, disclosures, and conflicts of interest.

Reach out to Elliot: Twitter | | Facebook | Email

Comments (7)

    John Berryhill

    JDM appears to be a standard acronym in the automotive parts business for “Japanese Domestic Market” parts. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Japanese_domestic_market

    June 16th, 2017 at 5:39 pm

      Elliot Silver

      Yes – likely the reason the “Urban Dictionary” result for that is first in Google for a search of JDM.

      In reply to John Berryhill | June 16th, 2017 at 6:03 pm

    Kassey Lee

    JDL can be turned into many great brands in China, for example JDM = 酒多美 (beautiful wine) for a wine business.

    June 17th, 2017 at 3:36 am

    John Colascione

    What is the penalty for being found guilty of Reverse Domain Name Hijacking??

    June 17th, 2017 at 7:12 pm

    Elliot Silver

    Panel ruled this was a case of Reverse Domain Name Hijacking: http://www.wipo.int/amc/en/domains/search/text.jsp?case=D2017-1182

    September 1st, 2017 at 12:47 pm

Leave a Reply

Name *

Mail *