Integrity.com UDRP Denied with RDNH

2

Every once in a while, I see a UDRP filing that appears to be unwinnable. More often than not, the domain name in question is a one word or three letter .com domain name that is rightfully owned by someone but coveted by another party.

A complainant called Integrity Marketing Group, LLC filed a UDRP against the one word Integrity.com domain name at the National Arbitration Forum (NAF). On appearance alone, I did not think the complainant stood a chance of winning the dispute for this high value dictionary word domain name.

The UDRP decision was published, and the three panelists ruled in favor of the domain registrant. In addition, the panel decided that this “Complaint was brought in bad faith and constitutes an abuse of the administrative proceeding.” This finding of Reverse Domain Name Hijacking (RDNH) was not surprising.

There were multiple reasons for why the panel ruled against the complainant. For one thing, the domain name was owned by the registrant before the complainant existed.

Here’s an excerpt from the decision:

Gerald Levine Honored with ICA Lifetime Achievement Award

0

Intellectual Property Attorney Gerald Levine was honored today with a Lifetime Achievement Award by the Internet Commerce Association. Mr. Levine is a noted attorney who is an expert in law related to domain names and intellectual property. Not only does Mr. Levine represent domain registrants and serve as a UDRP Panelist, but he also wrote the preeminent book on the topic – Domain Name Arbitration.

The virtual Award presentation was shared by the ICA and features quite a few domain industry veterans and IP attorney colleagues of Gerry who respect him tremendously. Congratulations to Mr. Levine on the award honoring his contributions.

Fox.org UDRP Decision is Upsetting

1

Last night, I saw that WIPO had posted an update regarding the Fox.org UDRP. Fox.org is a domain name registered in 1996, and I think “Fox” is a pretty generic term. The decision was listed as “Transfer,” which meant the complainant, Fox Media LLC, had prevailed. I hoped it was an error, but unfortunately, that was not the case. The decision was published today, and Fox Media LLC won the decision and will get the Fox.org domain name barring legal intervention.

The UDRP respondent in this case is a person named Bill Biersdorf. Interestingly, the name of the registrant differed from what was provided by the domain registrar:

Escapade.com UDRP Denied – Domain Has Reasonable Asking Price

0

A single panelist at the World Intellectual Property Organization denied the UDRP complaint against the Escapade.com domain name. The decision was published today, with Marina Perraki serving as the panelist. The decision was not a surprise given the domain registrant’s long-held trademark. What surprised me was the asking price for this one word .com domain name.

Here’s an excerpt from the discussion about bad faith registration and usage:

Tox.com UDRP Ends in RDNH Finding

1

A company called Tox Pressotechnik GmbH & Co. KG from Germany filed a UDRP against the valuable Tox.com domain name. The UDRP was filed at the World Intellectual Property Organization (case number D2022-3270). The three member panel published its decision today – a finding of Reverse Domain Name Hijacking (RDNH). In this case, the domain registrant was represented by Cylaw Solutions and the complainant was represented by Otten, Roth, Dobler & Partner GmbH.

Before filing the UDRP, the complainant apparently offered to buy Tox.com for $24,000 USD. The domain registrant reportedly sent a number of comparable three letter .com domain name sales with sale prices ranging from $140,000 to $1.5 million USD. In its decision, this panel once again backed a company’s right to invest in domain names. Here’s an excerpt from the discussion about rights or legitimate interests in the domain name:

Chewy UDRP Illustrates What Brands Go Up Against

1

I was browsing through some recently filed UDRP cases, when a domain name popped out at me. A UDRP was filed against AmericansJourney.com by Chewy at the World Intellectual Property Organization. It is WIPO case #D2022-3876.

On its own and without initially doing any background searching, the AmericansJourney.com domain name sounds somewhat defensibly generic. I could see it being a blog about an American’s journey though the world or something like that. Compared to a more clearly infringing domain name like ChewyPetSupplies.com, AmericansJourney.com does not seem super-infringing on a well-known brand name. There’s often more to the story, and this case is no different.