IVI.com Subject of UDRP Filing (Update)


Another valuable three letter .com domain name is the subject of a UDRP proceeding at the World Intellectual Property Organization. A UDRP was filed against IVI.com, and it is WIPO Case D2017-2240.

The owner of IVI.com is WebMD, a publisher of health news and information. IVI.com was created over 25 years ago, in June of 1992. When I visited IVI.com this morning, the domain name did not resolve for me. It looks like WebMD and/or a related entity has owned the IVI.com domain name since the 1990s.

The company that filed the complaint is listed as Equipo IVI SL. A Google search for that entity showed me a website with the homepage title, IVI-RMA is the largest Assisted Reproduction group in the world. That company operates on the inferior IVI-Fertility.com domain name, and that company’s Legal Notices page showed the corporate name of Equipo IVI SL. It looks like the company also has the inferior ccTLD, IVI.es. It is understandable that the company would want to have IVI.com.

I am sure it must be frustrating to operate on a lower quality domain name when the exact match .com domain name isn’t being used any longer in a visible manner. However, I don’t understand why the complainant thinks it can prove all three aspects of the UDRP, which is a requirement to win. From what I can see, it will be very tough to prove that the domain name was registered and is being used in bad faith. That being said, a UDRP decision can sometimes go in favor of the complainant (see IMI.com UDRP decision ).

Unlike the IMI.com UDRP proceeding where the domain owner did not respond, I would be shocked if WebMD and/or its parent company didn’t respond. WebMD has been around for a long time, and the company certainly knows its domain names are valuable assets. Having the domain name registered at MarkMonitor should also be helpful to them, as it would be unlikely that the UDRP notice would be overlooked.

As with all UDRP filings against valuable domain names (especially LLL.com domain names), I will be monitoring this one.

Update: The complaint was denied and the domain registrant will keep the domain name. Interestingly perhaps, WebMD did not respond to the UDRP.

Elliot Silver
Elliot Silver
About The Author: Elliot Silver is an Internet entrepreneur and publisher of DomainInvesting.com. Elliot is also the founder and President of Top Notch Domains, LLC, a company that has closed eight figures in deals. Please read the DomainInvesting.com Terms of Use page for additional information about the publisher, website comment policy, disclosures, and conflicts of interest. Reach out to Elliot: Twitter | Facebook | LinkedIn


Leave a Reply

Recent Posts

Hilco Digital Assets Announces $10m Investment in Squadhelp

Squadhelp has become a leading brand naming marketplace, connecting business owners and entrepreneurs with domain names listed for sales on its platform. Led by...

Questions Related to Uni —> Afternic Parking Migration

If you are a Uniregistry customer, you most likely received an email explaining the upcoming migration of the Uniregistry Market and parking platform to...

Some Uni-Registered New gTLDs Will be Transferred to 1API

I received an email from Uni (formerly Uniregistry) that I initially thought was a Whois verification email and almost ignored. It was, in fact,...

Advice and Resources for a Newbie Domain Investor

Someone reached out to me on Twitter seeking advice for selling domain names. In a short tweet thread, I shared a few thoughts and...

AI.com Now Forwarding to ChatGPT Website

Early this morning, Andy Booth tweeted about AI.com, asking if the domain name was acquired by ChatGPT. Andy presumably asked because the AI.com domain...